Biden announces the names of key members of his future administration

President-Elect Biden Names Key Members Of His New Administration | TODAY

Biden announces the names of key members of his future administration

President-elect forms his foreign policy and national security team

US President-elect Joe Biden on Monday announced the names of those scheduled to take key positions in his administration. He plans to appoint Anthony Blinken as Secretary of State, Alejandro Mallorcas – Secretary of Homeland Security, Avril Haynes – Director of National Intelligence, Linda Thomas-Greenfield – US Ambassador to the UN, Jake Sullivan – National Security Advisor and John Kerry – special envoy of the president for climate.

«These seasoned, crisis-proven leaders will immediately set to work to rebuild our institutions, renew and rethink American leadership to keep Americans safe at home and abroad, and to address the defining challenges of our time, from infectious diseases to terrorism, nuclear proliferation, cyberthreats, and climate change», – Biden’s transition team said in a statement.

Members of the future US administration

Biden stated: «We have no time to waste when it comes to our national security and foreign policy. I need a team ready to work from day one to help me put America back at the top of the table, rally the world to address the greatest challenges we face, and help advance our security, prosperity and values. This is the essence of this command. These people are not only experienced and crisis-tested, but also resourceful and innovative. Their accomplishments in diplomacy are unmatched. At the same time, they serve as the embodiment of the idea that we cannot cope with the serious problems of this new moment with old thinking and old habits, without a variety of origins and views. This is why I chose them».

Vice President-elect Kamala Harris said: «President-elect Biden and I know that once we enter the White House, we will inherit a number of unprecedented problems. These crisis-proven national security and foreign policy leaders have the knowledge and experience to keep our nation safe and restore and consolidate America’s leadership around the world. They embody the best of America. They have different origins and different life experiences. But they all share an unshakable faith in America’s ideals and an unshakable commitment to democracy and the rule of law. They – the leaders America needs to meet current and future challenges».

Biden announces the names of key members of his future administration

Anthony Blinken formerly served as undersecretary of state and other senior positions on Capitol Hill, the White House and the State Department.

Alejandro Mallorcas was Deputy Minister of the Interior and has been confirmed to various positions by the Senate three times throughout his career. He will be the first Hispanic and immigrant to be appointed Secretary of Homeland Security.

Linda Thomas-Greenfield, who will represent the United States at the UN, has 35 years of experience in the Foreign Service and has worked on four continents..

Former Secretary of State John Kerry will oversee climate change efforts as the president’s special envoy and will serve on the National Security Council. This is the first time that a climate change officer will serve on the Council, reflecting the President-elect’s commitment to fighting climate change..

Avril Haynes formerly served as Deputy Director of the CIA and Deputy National Security Adviser. She will become the first woman to lead the US intelligence community..

Jake Sullivan will become one of the youngest national security advisers in decades.

World news